Compare

Y Combinator vs Techstars Accelerators

The two programs side by side, from the getfund catalog: the exact deadline, the amount, the stages and who can apply. Updated on November 5, 2026.

Find my matches

Y Combinator

Y Combinator · Accelerator

Techstars Accelerators

Techstars · Accelerator

Side by side

Y Combinator and Techstars Accelerators compared
StatusY Combinator: ClosedTechstars Accelerators: Status to confirm
TypeY Combinator: AcceleratorTechstars Accelerators: Accelerator
DeadlineY Combinator: November 2, 2026Techstars Accelerators: Not announced
CallsY Combinator: One call with a fixed deadlineTechstars Accelerators: Not announced
AmountY Combinator: $500,000 · InvestmentTechstars Accelerators: Investment
StagesY Combinator: Idea, Pre-seedTechstars Accelerators: Pre-seed, Seed
Open toY Combinator: Not statedTechstars Accelerators: Not stated
EquityY Combinator: 7%Techstars Accelerators: 5%
Entry feeY Combinator: Free to applyTechstars Accelerators: Not stated

Editor's notes

  • YC invests $500,000 in every company it accepts, on one standard deal made of two SAFEs signed at the same time.

    Our $500K investment is made on 2 separate SAFEs at the same time, with an accompanying YC Agreement

  • On-time applications for YC's Winter 2027 batch close on November 2 at 8pm PT, and the batch runs in person in San Francisco from January to March.

    The deadline to apply on-time is November 2 at 8pm PT; if you apply before the deadline, you will get a decision by December 11.

  • YC invests only in US, Canadian, Cayman and Singapore corporations, so a startup incorporated in another country sets up a parent company in one of those four.

    We invest in US, Canada, Cayman, and Singapore corporations.

  • Techstars invests $220,000: $200,000 on an uncapped MFN SAFE and $20,000 on a post-money convertible common equity agreement.

    The $220,000 offer comprises two components, including $200,000 through an uncapped MFN SAFE and $20,000 through a Post-Money Convertible Common Equity Agreement (CEA).

  • Techstars runs separate three-month accelerators by city and sector, and its Anywhere program is remote-first for companies in North American time zones, with no relocation.

    Techstars Anywhere is a remote-first Techstars accelerator with no relocation necessary.

Frequently asked questions

When do Y Combinator and Techstars Accelerators close?
Y Combinator: November 2, 2026. Techstars Accelerators: Not announced.
How much do Y Combinator and Techstars Accelerators give?
Y Combinator: $500,000 · Investment. Techstars Accelerators: Investment.
Which stages can apply to Y Combinator and Techstars Accelerators?
Y Combinator: Idea, Pre-seed. Techstars Accelerators: Pre-seed, Seed.
Who can apply to Y Combinator and Techstars Accelerators?
Y Combinator: Not stated. Techstars Accelerators: Not stated.
What did the editor check on the official pages?
YC invests $500,000 in every company it accepts, on one standard deal made of two SAFEs signed at the same time. Read on the program's official page on October 25, 2026. On-time applications for YC's Winter 2027 batch close on November 2 at 8pm PT, and the batch runs in person in San Francisco from January to March. Read on the program's official page on October 25, 2026. YC invests only in US, Canadian, Cayman and Singapore corporations, so a startup incorporated in another country sets up a parent company in one of those four. Read on the program's official page on October 25, 2026. Techstars invests $220,000: $200,000 on an uncapped MFN SAFE and $20,000 on a post-money convertible common equity agreement. Read on the program's official page on October 25, 2026. Techstars runs separate three-month accelerators by city and sector, and its Anywhere program is remote-first for companies in North American time zones, with no relocation. Read on the program's official page on October 25, 2026.

Don't miss the programs that fit your startup.